Showing all 8 results

  • 1967: The Shape of Things to Come, by H. G. Wells

    “The Shape of Things to Come,” authored by H.G. Wells and originally published in 1933, is a visionary science fiction novel that explores the future of humanity through speculative foresight. The narrative is framed as a historical account written from the future, specifically the year 2106, by a character named Dr. Philip Raven, who bases his account on a series of dream visions. Wells’s ambitious narrative spans from the 1930s to the 22nd century, detailing a series of catastrophic events, including global wars, plagues, and the eventual collapse of existing political and social structures. Notably, the novel predicts the occurrence of a second world war and various technological advancements, such as air warfare and a global communication network akin to the internet.

    Beyond its prescient visions of technological and geopolitical developments, Wells’s novel is a profound commentary on the human condition and the potential trajectories of societal evolution. It reflects his idealistic belief in progress through rational thought and scientific innovation, advocating for a unified world governed by knowledge and cooperation. “The Shape of Things to Come” stands out not only for its speculative insights but also for its influence on the science fiction genre. Despite some predictions being off the mark, the novel remains a significant and fascinating work, illustrating both the hopes and warnings of its era regarding the future of mankind.

  • 1980: The Globes of Llarum, by Gene Lancour

    The Globes of Llarum, by Gene Lancour, is a thought-provoking science fiction novel set in a dystopian future. Cort Devereaux, mercenary available for the highest price, exile from a destroyed planet, finds himself stranded without credit on Llarum, a backwater frontier planet whose unique wealth is based on the gas voided by bioluminescent globes – a colorful product marketed through out the human-settled planets. The story offers readers a gripping tale that raises important questions about the nature of humanity and the potential dangers of unchecked authority.

  • 1969: The House on the Strand, by Daphne du Maurier (first ed, book club edition)

    The House on the Strand by Daphne du Maurier is a thrilling work of fiction that takes readers on a journey through time. The story follows Richard Young, a man who has been given the opportunity to test a new drug that transports him back to the 14th century. As he becomes more and more engrossed in the past, Richard begins to lose touch with the present and the people around him. He finds himself drawn to the lives of the people he encounters in the past and becomes embroiled in their dramas and conflicts. As the drug’s effects become more intense, Richard must struggle to maintain his grip on reality and find a way back to his own time.

    This book is a masterful blend of historical fiction and science fiction, with du Maurier’s signature suspenseful style keeping readers on the edge of their seats. The House on the Strand explores themes of time, identity, and the human desire to escape reality.

  • 1930: The Dream, by H.G. Wells, the Novel Library Series

    The Dream is a novel by H.G. Wells that was published in the Novel Library series in 1930. The story follows a man named William Leadford who falls asleep in 1906 and wakes up in the year 1930. He discovers that the world has undergone significant changes, including the emergence of a world government and the abolition of war. However, he also realizes that society has become more regimented and controlled, and he struggles to adjust to the new way of life.

    The Vintage Edition of The Dream is a compact blue hardcover volume with gilt ornamentation and lettering on the cover and spine. Despite some wear on the cover and spine, the book is in good condition with no writing or markings. However, there is some yellowing and foxing to the pages due to age.

  • 1933, H. G. Wells: World of William Glissold (2 volumes), Tono Bungay

    The World of William Glissold and Tono Bungay are two books written by H.G. Wells and published in 1933. The World of William Glissold is a two-volume set, totaling 510 pages, while Tono Bungay is a standalone book with 254 pages. Both books are presented in red cloth hardcovers with gilt lettering on the spine and an impression of H.G. Wells’ signature on the front cover. The top edges are painted black, and while there is some foxing to the endpages and fore-edges, the volumes are clean and tightly bound with no markings.

    The World of William Glissold follows the life of the titular character, a writer and philosopher, as he navigates the political and social landscape of the early 20th century. Tono Bungay, on the other hand, tells the story of a young man who invents a miracle cure-all and rises to fame and fortune, only to have his success unravel due to his own greed and deceit. These books are a must-read for any fan of H.G. Wells’ work and are in excellent condition, making them a great addition to any library.

  • 1980s set of 3: H.G. Wells Science Fiction Treasury, Works of Edgar Allan Poe, Mark Twain – Chatham River Press

    This set of three publications by Chatham River Press includes the works of three classic authors: Edgar Allan Poe, H.G. Wells, and Mark Twain. The Edgar Allan Poe volume contains all of his short stories, a complete novel, and several poems, while the H.G. Wells volume features six of his most famous science fiction works. The Mark Twain volume includes some of his most beloved novels, such as The Adventures of Tom Sawyer and The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn. All three volumes are bound in red leatherette with gilt ornamentation and lettering on the cover and spine, and all page edges are gilt. Despite slight fading due to age, the volumes are in excellent condition and appear unread, making them a beautiful collectible set that would make a wonderful gift.

    This set is part of the Greenwich Unabridged Library Classics Series and is a great addition to any classic literature collection.

  • 1960: The High Crusade, by Poul Anderson – Baen Books

    The High Crusade by Poul Anderson is a vintage science fiction novel published in 1960. The story is set in medieval England and follows the adventures of a group of knights who are abducted by aliens from a distant planet. The knights, led by Sir Roger, manage to take control of the alien spaceship and decide to use it to conquer the alien planet. Along the way, they encounter various challenges and obstacles, including a hostile alien race and a traitor in their midst. The novel is a humorous and satirical take on the traditional medieval knight tale, with elements of science fiction and adventure.

  • 1986: A Door into Ocean, a Science Fiction Novel by Joan Slonczewski

    A Door into Ocean is a science fiction novel written by Joan Slonczewski and published in 1986. The story takes place on the planet of Shora, which is entirely covered by water and inhabited by a race of women called Sharers. The Sharers possess the ability to manipulate the ocean and its creatures, and they live in harmony with their environment. However, their peaceful existence is threatened when a group of male colonizers from the planet Valedon arrive and attempt to exploit the planet’s resources.

    The novel explores themes of feminism, environmentalism, and the consequences of colonialism. It also delves into the complex relationships between different species and the importance of empathy and understanding. A Door into Ocean is a thought-provoking and engaging read that challenges readers to consider their own relationship with the natural world.